Can I specify the number of versions I keep of my files?

Yes. You can specify the number of versions to keep for each file and/or the amount of days to keep them before they get automatically deleted by making changes to the versioning rules within the settings of your backup jobs.

One of the nice features of the ReadyNAS Vault service is that it allows you to archive an unlimited number of versions of files that have been backed up from your ReadyNAS.  By default, the account settings are configured so that all versions of your files that have been detected and backed up are retained in your account permanently. To view versions of your files, browse your account to locate and select the file in question, then click "View Version(s)" from the toolbar.

If you would like to limit the number of versions you keep for each file, or limit the amount of time that versions will be maintained in your account, change your Versioning Rules accordingly. 

Click here to watch a short, animated tutorial on how to modify your Versioning Rules. 

To access this feature:

  1. Log into your account and click on the Backup/Restore tab.
  2. Select the device and backup job that you would like to configure, and click on "Edit Job".
  3. Click on the Versioning tab.
  4. Input how many versions you would like to keep of each file, and or how long you would like to keep your versions for.

If you would like to keep all versions of your files indefinitely, do not enable either rule.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk